Reviews



Cheltenham Festival - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay everything you need good location. Great breakfast would recommend. Short bus ride into town and approx 3 miles from race track. KFC &Harvester opposite which was great for us all.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Jeanette T | Wed 28th Mar 2018 | 2 months ago


White Lodge- Rating 5/5

Excellent Stay,Steph great host, and brilliant breakfastThank you

Reviewer:Trevor N | Fri 16th Mar 2018 | 3 months ago


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Welcoming and friendly hosts. Clean, well furnished and comfortable room, plus a satisfying breakfast.Just over the road is a Kentucky fried chicken and a Harvester, so food and drink on the doorstep and no need to drive.Altogether, an ideal location for a short (or longer) break.

Reviewer:Colin R | Mon 26th Feb 2018 | 3 months ago


White Lodge review - Rating 4/5

We had a very relaxing stay.After a long journey it was wonderful to unpack have a cup of tea, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was freshly made. In all a clean and homely place to stay just off the M5.Thank you.

Reviewer:lucy z | Mon 18th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


A Very Pleasant Stay..- Rating 5/5

The White Lodge is a lovely period house, it is very quaint and unusual. It had a lovely breakfast and Pam was very welcoming.. I had a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate to book again the next time I'm in Cheltenham..

Reviewer:Keith E | Wed 13th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

A pleasant night stopover on our way from Manchester to Exemouth on a pre Christmas road trip to meet new friendsWhite Lodge was an ideal place to break our journey - the room -along with the rest of the house has lots of character - lovely &clean - &very comfortable - only the erratic shower stopped us giving it a 5

Reviewer:Fred E | Fri 8th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


Excellent breakfast! - Rating 5/5

I stayed one night in the White Lodge but will return as it was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Ian K | Fri 8th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Really good room, breakfast perfect will certainly stay again when in the area.

Reviewer:john S | Fri 17th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Acceptable - Rating 3/5

No real strong features, milk should have been on the breakfast counter in a flask to keep it cold.We didn't know we could have had yoghurt and fresh fruit until we sat down eating cereal ( which was the only option visible). A greater selection of breakfast would have been nice.A warmer welcome on arrival.A shower that did not fluctuate between boiling and freezing.

Response

Milk and butter is delivered to the table straight from the fridge when the guests sit down. A notice is on the buffet telling guests if they require fruit and yoghurt to please ask as I prepare it when it is ordered. Also it is included on the menu on the table. I am not sure what is needed to have a greater selection of breakfast, I already provide a choice of 5 different egg styles. No complaints about the shower either before or after your departure. Sorry if you felt my welcome was not warm.

Reviewer:Peter B | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Does what it says on the tin. - Rating 4/5

If you need a quick stopover, as we did, then this place is fine. Decent breakfast. Clean. Comfy beds.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Julie W | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Absoulty a great place to stay - Rating 5/5

I was greeted very well and shoen to my room. The bedroom was of a very, very high standard. Better than some of the hotels. A really true English Decor and well layedout. The colour scheme is truely great. The Breafast is of high standards. So I am staying another two nights. But all I can say is cine and check it out. You will nit have any regrets what so ever.

Response

Thank you very much

Reviewer:Phillip H | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


White Lodge, Cheltenham - Rating 5/5

White Lodge was perfect for what we needed. We were going to an afternoon wedding so the owner allowed us to check in early, then gave us a key to return late. She went out of her way to help us and it was very much appreciated. Room was very comfy with tea-making facilities too. Easy access from A40 so would definitely recommend to anyone who needs to stay in that area. Free WiFi and excellent prices too.

Response

Many thanks

Reviewer:Janice T | Sun 16th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


White Lodge - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable.A little subject to heavy traffic noise from about 6 am to 10 pm.Extremely friendly hosts.

Response

Thank you for your response, although I am sure you did not stay in your room all day, and yes we are on a busy road

Reviewer:J C B | Sun 9th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Charming character house- Rating 4/5

Lovely place for a stop over convenient for the races and shops and sightseeing . The bonus for us it had a very large back garden for the dogs to run around. Safely. We had the red bedroom No 3 over looking back garden, full of character. Well stocked with shampoo, soap tissues, tea, coffee, chocolate, biscuits, toothbrush and yourown fridge. Mattress was too soft for us but the room was lovely and clean .

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:LYNNETTE B | Thu 29th Jun 2017 | 11 months ago


Very nice stay - Rating 4/5

A lovely B&B. We stayed in the room which had a shared bathroom which was spotless. The breakfast was lovely too. The new only gripe was a bit of traffic noise but if I was in the area again I would stay here.

Response

Many thanks

Reviewer:Kingsley H | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


convenient, clean. - Rating 5/5

one night stop-over, great breakfast, tidy room. good wifi. tv. would stay again.

Reviewer:Christopher S | Thu 8th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Ideal location- Rating 3/5

Great location, room ideal, not so great having to walk down a flight of stairs to use the toilet but otherwise great.

Response

We do state on the website that the bathroom is on the first floor and the bedrooms are on the second. But thank you

Reviewer:Carl A | Wed 7th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Very comfortable but ... - Rating 3/5

Proprietors very welcoming, breakfast good, room clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the use of a plug in room freshener resulted in an overpowering scent that was so strong it made your eyes smart and triggered off asthma in my wife. More open windows and fresh air would have achieved what was being desired.

Response

I was sorry to hear about the room freshener, although it was not plugged in just sitting in the wardrobe. Believe me when some guests vacate the room, open windows and fresh air does not go very far and the plug in is necessary. Other than that I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Robert M | Sat 13th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Comfortanble two nights spent in a beautifully maintained property, with delicious breakfast, looking at a lovely garden. Once inside, no idea you were beside a busy roundabout so comfort in a very accessible location. If using the postcode and a sat nav to find it, bit tricky - we ended up in a dead end road, from which we could see the property and then had to work out how to access it, as it can only be approached one way.Easy when you know!

Response

Thank you for your response. Just to let other people know the property can be accessed both ways.

Reviewer:Karen K | Mon 1st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely B+B, charmingly prepared. - Rating 4/5

A most charmingly furnished and warmly welcoming B+B just beside the Highway.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Hinrich H | Sat 22nd Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect stay - Rating 4/5

We were very pleased with our room, spotlessly clean,beautifully decorated. The breakfast was perfect, kept us going most of the day. If we were to return to Cheltenham, we would try to book in with White Lodge.Many thanks to our friendly hosts.

Response

Your more than welcome, thank you.

Reviewer:Kathy M | Thu 13th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect stay - Rating 4/5

We were very pleased with our room, spotlessly clean,beautifully decorated. The breakfast was perfect, kept us going most of the day. If we were to return to Cheltenham, we would try to book in with White Lodge.Many thanks to our friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Kathy M | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Like a home away from home- Rating 3/5

Lovely room with warm and genuine hospitality.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Theresa B | Fri 24th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Good value for money. Clean, friendlyand an excellant breakfast

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Den G | Thu 23rd Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable Bed & Breakfast - Rating 4/5

The room was very comfortable and warm.Bed was excellent.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Judi M | Mon 13th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Very Nice - Rating 5/5

I found the room and everything at the White Lodge very nice and had no issues during my short stay.

Reviewer:COLIN T | Fri 20th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Very Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

Clean, well-presented and very convenient location. Nice service without being intrusive. Recommended.

Reviewer:James M | Fri 6th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable and convenient - Rating 5/5

We were in Cheltenham to visit family and White Lodge was convenient and sensibly priced. The hosts took care to supply Gluten Free food for my wife's breakfast and our room was very comfortable both for sleeping and sitting to watch TV of an evening. We'll use them again!

Reviewer:Tim C | Thu 5th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Welcoming stay - Rating 5/5

We're actually a family with older children but that option wasn't available. We had a double and twin for 2 nights and the rooms were lovely and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious.We also had our dog with us and we were all made to feel very welcome. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Response

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay.Pamela

Reviewer:Mrs. Isobel G | Sat 31st Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Amazing Stay - Rating 5/5

Clean charming country home feel. Breakfast was outstanding. Worth every oenny

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline F | Sun 18th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


White Lodge B&B - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the White Lodge.It had everything we needed and more, so cleanand comfortable. And the breakfast was lovely. A real hidden gem.

Response

My daughter did well, so glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:James P | Mon 12th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Not the friendliest welcome! - Rating 3/5

Hard to find, straight before a busy roundabout but well signposted parking bays. An unwelcoming greeting but the room was clean although far too full of furniture for the size of the room. The shower was consistently warm. We missed breakfast which finishes at 9 - even on a Sunday.

Response

Sorry if you thought you had an unwelcome greeting. All furniture in the room is there for a purpose, if I took any out people would complain, no wardrobe or no chairs to sit on. As for breakfast I have to have a cut off time to give sufficient time afterwards for guests to leave and for me to service the rooms before 14.00, as some people arrive before 13.00. Sundays are no different to the rest of the week.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kate B | Mon 28th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Autumn Stay - Rating 5/5

A very relaxing two night breakEverything you could need was in the en-suite room, including dinner plates, cutlery and salt/pepper for a takeaway (we didn't need them). Breakfast hearty with more tea offered. Garden was a hidden gem. You wouldn't think White Lodge was so near a busy roundabout.Pamela and Dick looked after us well in an unfussy manner. Only pity was that we didn't have enough time to view and chat about the many items and old photographs that were part of the history of this house.Would definitely return, and recommend it

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Joseph C | Mon 31st Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely little gem - Rating 5/5

Excellent room very clean comfortable and lovely decor. Breakfast was good. No faults lovely second stay.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Lorraine P | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

The accommodation was very comfortable, everything had been thought of.Breakfast was excellent, every taste catered for.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith P | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


White lodge is the \"right lodge\" - Rating 5/5

What a fabulous little secret! The sat nav couldn't find it but once we did we were amazed. The decor, service and breakfast were top class. Beds comfy, proper tea bags and fresh milk in the room. We were glad of the price but you'd easily pay more anywhere else. And, what a lovely garden - felt like we were in the middle of the countryside. We highly recommend this little gem!

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin S | Mon 17th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


quiet, pleasant and well equipped - Rating 5/5

Everything you would expect in a b and b run by very experienced owners.Very pet friendly- large enclosed garden. Parking just adequate.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger W | Wed 12th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Well equipped room - Rating 4/5

A little hard to find and near a busy road. However the traffic was light by evening, was muted by the double glazing and did not disturb our sleep. Breakfast was very good and our room had nice touches like the small fridge with fresh milk for the tea and coffee tray. Run by a very pleasant couple.

Response

Thank you for your comments. Pamela

Reviewer:Mrs. Gillian A | Sun 9th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Lovely night in Cheltenham - Rating 5/5

Beautiful B&B and gardens. We had a good nights sleep in a lovely room. The breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. To top it off our hosts were lovely too!!

Response

Thank you. Pamela

Reviewer:Mr. Gareth S | Sat 20th Jun 2015 | 2 years ago


Excellent value for money - Rating 5/5

Were were very comfortable on this one-night stay.The room was decorated to a very high standard and had all the facilites you would expect.The full English breakfast was more than adequate.The house is very convenient for the motorway and within very easy walking distance of a Harvester restaurant.

Response

Thank you. Pamela

Reviewer:Mr. Debbie K | Sun 31st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We found The White Lodge to be very comfortable and clean.A really nice breakfast was provided to set us up for the day.We would certainly recommend the White Lodge.

Response

Thank you for your response, Pamela

Reviewer:Mr. Donald W | Fri 21st Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Good value. - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable stay, room very clean, and lovely English breakfast.

Response

Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Kelvin R | Sun 5th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

We were staying for two nights to go to a friend's wedding. The rooms were well decorated with lots of thoughtful amenities such as pocket tissues and a sewing kit that you don't usually get in family run B&Bs and there was a fridge with fresh milk for the tea and coffee facilities. Both Pam and Dick were really friendly and didn't mind us arriving at 10pm on a Friday night. The breakfast on both mornings was freshly cooked and tasted fab. We really couldn't complain about anything.

Response

Thank you for your kind review. Pam

Reviewer:Miss. Grace C | Tue 12th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Comfortable - Rating 4/5

We liked the White Lodge. The welcome and breakfast were nice. Our only critisism would be that the room was over-furnished and felt rather cramped.

Response

Thank you for your kind words. Unfortunately when we are graded Visit England require a certain number of items in the room and furnishings to achieve a 4 star status, the room sizes are dictated as well. They so far have not realized it does not always work.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil Robson R | Mon 21st Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


really nice and homely, but there is a but!!- Rating 3/5

Clean, well furnished and the bed is really comfy!!! You get little extras which is nice - a fridge in your room, selection of hot drinks and loads of toiletries. Now comes the bad part - I couldn't get hot water out of the shower!! I had the water running for some time and it was freezing. Also there is only one power setting you can have the shower on as the other settings just release a slow trickle of water. If the shower worked I would have given 5/5

Response

We did ask this guest if he wanted us to look at the shower, he declined. There are only two controls on this shower, a lever that turns from left to right for the water flow and a knob that turns left to right towards a red button for the temperature 1-8 and past the red button control for more heat. Unfortunately this guest had the temperature turned right down to the lowest setting of cold!!!

Reviewer:Mr. LeeP | Thu 10th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Would recommend - Rating 5/5

Very homely. Everything I wanted.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Edward G | Thu 27th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi